Holy Orders - St Anthony's Parish Drayton Valley

Go to content

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: Episcopate, Presbyterate, and Diaconate. (Catechism of the Catholic Church 1536)

The ministerial priesthood differs in essence from the common priesthood of the faithful because it confers a sacred power for the service of the faithful. The ordained ministers exercise their service for the People of God by teaching (munus docendi), divine worship (munus liturgicum) and pastoral governance (munus regendi).
(Catechism of the Catholic Church, #1592)

To find out more about this great gift of God and explore whether you might be called to servant leadership as a priest, contact the Parish Office at 780 542 5254.
Copyright 2016-2021 St. Anthony's Parish, Drayton Valley, Canada. All Rights Resevered
Site Design - Jaya Rajan J M
Back to content